Final Stretch: 9 More Days

Last week was another busy one, and to top it off I came down with a bizarre lung-eating virus that gave me a killer cough (and killer abs). The act of breathing was a challenge, so I stayed away from the gym and walked home instead for exercise and to avoid spreading germs on the T. Except for Friday and Saturday night, I ate home-cooked food and leftovers for all three meals.. There are 9 days left to the spending fast, and even though I spent some of my money on “wants” I haven’t gone over my $200 budget for spending on my American Express Serve card.  There’s $8 to spare.

This week:

Workout as much as possible

My cough has subsided and I’m so ready to get back in the swing of exercise.

Eat home-cooked/homemade 3x/day 

Meal planning and building up pantry staples has been the key to success with this. The site budgetbytes.com has been a good resource for inexpensive, filling, and cheap eats. Last week I made the Creamy Tomato & Spinach Pasta for dinner, the Chopped Kale Salad for lunch(es), and the Spinach Rice Breakfast bowls. This week the Italian Wonderpot is on the menu along with some attempts at Turkish food inspired by watching an episode of Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations: Red Lentil Soup (Mercimek Corbasi), Fava Bean and Pea Salad (İç Bakla ve Bezelye Salatası), and Sultan’s Delight (Hünkar Beğendi). More on how that goes this week.

Finalize a budget for October

October is the last month before shit gets crazy with the holidays. Aside from basic living expenses, I have to account for budgeting and funding for some other ventures before the end of the year:

  • My 26th birthday is October 13th. I need to decide how much I want to spend on celebrations. Dive bar? Yes – if only Boston had a good one near me.
  • Travel arrangements for my friend’s November wedding in Brooklyn.
  • Travel arrangements for Thanksgiving in NJ/NYC before the ticket prices sky rocket.
  • Travel arrangements to Buffalo and NJ/NYC for Christmas/NYE
  • Christmas presents for nieces and nephews
One thought on “Final Stretch: 9 More Days

Leave a Reply

