Vegan Breakfasts & Lunches On The Spending Fast

I’ve made it four days through my spending fast, and I’ve arrived at my first Friday. The only money I’ve spent this month has been on my expected monthly expenses, and a $20 ATM withdrawal to get quarters  for laundry in my building. I’m like, so impressed with myself.

Monday I contemplated going grocery shopping for some cheap staple items, but I decided to clean out the house first to put off dipping into my $200 allowance. When I set out to do this, I didn’t have the intention of making sure the meals were vegan, but it makes sense that the breakfasts and lunches I was able to put together from my pantry foods were free of animal products. That’s an added benefit to this whole thing!

Breakfast

Breakfast

  • 1/2 cup Oatmeal (uncooked)
  • 3 tablespoons Chia Seeds
  • 1/3 cup dried cherries

I dumped the oatmeal and cherries in a quart container and poured the chia seeds into a sealed bag that I tucked inside the container. This yielded 5 pre-made breakfasts with some chia seeds to spare.

Lunch

photo 3

  • 1 package Annie Chun’s Rice Noodles
  • 1/2 package Emerald Cove Wakame Seaweed
  • 1/2 package Frozen Edamame (in shell)
  • 1 cup Frozen corn
  • 1 Fresh Carrot, spiral cut
  • Soy Sauce
  • Sesame Oil
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Garlic
  • Coconut oil
  • Rice Vinegar

I threw all of this stuff together and made a rice noodle salad with a soy sauce dressing. It tastes pretty good, and I yielded 4-5 2-cup servings of it.

Snack

  • Cocoa-dusted Emerald Almonds

I exercised Sunday-Monday, but I worked an average of 12 hours/day from Tuesday-Thursday, so I passed on the physical exertion in favor of lying in bed to turn my brain off before the warm glow of my laptop. I watched Hunt for the Abominable Snowman and the Neil DeGrasse Tyson Cosmos episode, Deeper Deeper Deeper Still on Netflix. I’m a fan of fake science and real science, but mostly just a good story.

Tonight after work I’ll spend some time at the gym, then come home and watch episodes of Game of Thrones while my husband goes out for a birthday party. On Saturday my firm is hosting a “Summer Party” as late as they possibly could on one of Boston’s harbor islands, Thompson Island. In exchange of being trapped on an island with co-workers for 4 hours, I will get a free boat ride and catered food & drinks.

 

Leave a Reply

